Docker on Photon - Newb Questions

I’ve been an IT professional for 30 years, and have spent the last 7 years building and configuring vmware virtual environments for manufacturing companies. So, I’m not a “tech” newb. Far from it.

However, I am a complete docker and photon vm newb. But I can be taught!

I’m desperate to get my my Blue Iris install working correctly with ai tool and deepstack, because 2 months ago somebody burned our American Flag on our porch at midnight, and he’s still on the loose…I want to be alerted the next time somebody walks up to my front door at midnight!!

But the windows 10 vm I built on my esxi host seemed to struggle to run all three of them. So after 2 months of trying to make those 3 work on a single vm, this morning I spun up a brand new Photon VM on my esxi host to run deepquestai/deepstack.

I did the following:

• docker run --restart always -d -p 80:80 vmwarecna/nginx - the webserver was installed and started running, I can get to the Photon front page by typing that url / port into a browser on any machine on my network.
  • docker run /deepquestai/deepstack:latest - got deepquest installed
  • docker run --restart always -e VISION-DETECTION=True -v localstorage:/datastore -p 80:5000 --name deepstack deepquestai/deepstack:cpu-x6-beta

Now I have some Docker questions:

1. when I was testing, I didn’t use the “–restart always” switch for deepstack. It showed the verbose output, and I could see how much time things were taking, etc. But the only way I could enter another command was to ctrl+c “out” to a prompt. Now that I’ve run it with the “–restart always” switch, it doesn’t show the verbose output. How do I show that output?
  2. Upon reboot of the photon vm, deepstack doesn’t start, and I have to run “docker start deepstack” to get it to start. I thought “–restart always” meant “always”??

Photon questions: